The Nile killer

Alas, I am behind in my writings. It was quite a busy week, but I think the highlight (and lowlight for that matter) had to be the Nile River rafting death march. Now, I say death march only because of the multiple times where I saw my life flashing before my eyes as the raft toppled over a 45 foot drop while managing to fall on top of us at the same time. I exaggerate. It was only 15 feet, but it felt a whole lot longer on the way down.

You’re probably thinking, “What were you thinking?” in which case I would respond that a friend told me it was a once in a lifetime experience and that I had to do it. What I didn’t realize was the fact that “once in a lifetime” didn’t mean that everyone had to do it at least once. It was more of a “once in a lifetime” because you won’t be alive to do it again. Okay, well I feel like I’ve been writing for 10 minutes and haven’t really said anything, so I’ll begin. The trip was around 30 km of river, which meant around 2 km of whitewater and 28 km of rowing. Needless to say, it was a good work out. It was raining most of the day so I still haven’t really figured out why I looked like a tomato after it was all said and done.  There were 8 rapids and our boat actually only flipped on 2 of them. Flipping isn’t as fun as it sounds. The best comparison would be being too far up on your surfboard when you’re trying to catch a wave only to find the wave and your surfboard crashing down on your face. Overall, it was a really fun tiring trip, and if you’re ever here – “it’s a once in a lifetime experience”. It’s funny because one of my favorite parts of the trip was the drive home when all of these cute little kids ran up to our bus while yelling “bye mzungus (white people), bye!” except for one little boy who threw a stick at the bus. I am thinking he didn’t share the excitement of the other little kids.

Anyhow, the other highlight of the week was the quiz night at a local restaurant. A few well diversified friends and I put together quite the all-star team and ended up winning the 10 round bouts. It’s funny as I answered probably one question total and yet my teammates always looked to me as if I had the answer. Yeah, Jeopardy was never my strong suit.

Oh yeah, I also have a great picture from the trip that I’ll have to include in my next post. It might just be good enough to be Ben Tejes’ next Facebook profile picture. Eh, I’ll let you decide.

Until next time!

Ben

 

About btejes

Just an average guy with a love for beans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

