Back!

So, if you haven’t notice by now, I decided to start writing this thing again. Thank you for all of the words of encouragement! I actually enjoy writing this thing, but I think a culmination of busy-ness and constantly putting it off lead to my blog’s eventual demise.

Okay, I think it’s best that I start from the beginning of my African adventure 2.0, and the beginning to every Africa adventure from the states begins with a plane ride (At this point, I almost wish they offered boat rides). To do this, I want to create a sense of imagery in the reader by creating two scenarios from Orlando to Uganda – ideal and actual:

Ideal – 0 stops, 11 hours flying time:

 Actual – way too many stops, >24 hours

Forgive me for the blurry images and unreadable text. Here’s the thing – I feel that my flights were already slightly misrepresented. I knew I had two layovers, but I mistook the “two stops” as the two initial layovers, not two more layovers. I guess it’s actually my fault. Now, four layovers wouldn’t be that bad if I didn’t have to go through customs in Canada, pick up my bags (not joking), have the airline mistakenly transfer my bags to the next plane (only take them off the plane to send the back to me 15 minutes later) drop off my bags, and go the international gate. I guess this situation wouldn’t be that bad if I had all day either – I had 1 hour and 15 minutes. It was a terrible experience and a pure and simple miracle that I made it, but thankfully, I did.  You can imagine how happy I was arriving to Uganda at 12:30 am on a Friday after leaving at 1:50 pm on a Wednesday.

Okay, so I know what you’re thinking – “stop venting.” You’re right; I will switch gears and tell you about my time so far in Nairobi, Kenya… Now you’re probably thinking, “he accidentally said Nairobi, Kenya”, which would be a great guess. However, two days after I arrived, I re-embarked on another plane from Uganda to Kenya.  Crazy as it may seem, there’s a perfectly good explanation… But that will have to wait until next time I write my blog.  I have to go grab some food.

Ben

About btejes

Just an average guy with a love for beans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back!

  1. Jeanette Tejes says:

    So happy to see you’re back!

  2. Josh says:

    Wow, what crazy flights you had. Glad you made is safe. We are praying for you and miss you lots over here!

  3. hj14 says:

    If I were a betting man, I would have bet that you would have missed your plane while in Canada. You had the long odds. However, making it on time, must have felt like one of your best days finding errors that benefitted the hospital in which you were working. As you know, retrieving baggage could have taken a long time. You must have been tired and out of breathe walking onto your plane. Congradulations! I lost my bet.

Leave a Reply

